This article walks you through what your client sees after you ENABLE their Client Portal.
Once you’ve granted access to a contact, MyCase will send that person an email on behalf of your law firm welcoming them to their MyCase account. The email contains their login instructions and a link for them to set up their secure password.
TIP: Linking a client or contact to a case does NOT automatically share case information with that person. You will need to select which particular items you want to share.
An example of the email that is sent to a client when they are invited to the portal
Once your client clicks the link to activate their portal, they will be asked to create a password, and then they will be taken to the portal. They still will not be able to view anything related to their case, until you have specifically shared something with them (e.g. a document, event, invoice or message). Your client will be able to send you a new message, as well as upload documents for your review if they are linked to a case.
An example of a client's homepage after first logging in, before any items are shared with them by the firm
As you begin working on the client's case you may not want to share every piece of case information, so we always default to not sharing items until you specifically check off an item to share. For instance, if you upload 5 documents into the system but you only share one with your client, they will have no idea that the other four exist in the system.