This article will walk you through both sharing a new document and an existing document.
How to Share Legal Documents with Clients in MyCase
Sharing a New Document
When you're uploading a document that is related to a case/matter, you can easily share it with clients and contacts.
Click Upload Document to display the upload document box. Notice the Sharing column on the right - it says "Select a Case Link to configure sharing".
In the Case Link field, type the name of the case/matter that the document should be linked to. Once you select the case from the auto-match list, the Sharing column will populate with all of the clients and contacts that you've linked to the case (pictured below).
Notice how every person has a checkbox next to their name. If you would like to share this document with someone, simply check the box next to their name.
This way of sharing gives you great flexibility to share and hide the document from certain people. In the example below, the document will be shared with Brooke, but not Donovan.
Sharing an Existing Document
You can always edit the sharing settings for a document after it has been uploaded.
Open the Document Details page for the document you'd like to edit. Click the Sharing button.
You will be taken to a list of all the contacts that are linked to the case that the document is related to. The columns on the right will show a checkmark in the column that is selected for the contact and an 'x' in the column that is not chosen for the contact. In the example below, Brooke can view the document, but the document is hidden for Donovan.
To change the shared and hidden settings, click the Edit Sharing button.
Using the checkboxes, choose who should and shouldn't be able to view the document.
When done, click Save Changes.
Please Note: If you changed anyone FROM hidden and TO shared, they will receive an email from MyCase letting them know that a new document has been shared with them.
What Happens When a Document is Shared?
When you share a document with a client or contact, MyCase will automatically send them an email notification that a new document has been uploaded and shared with them. If updates and changes are made to the document, they will also receive email notifications that changes have been made. This is great because you don't have to worry about notifying people anymore, MyCase will do it for you!