All Collections
Integrations & Apps
Quickbooks
How can I update the Quickbooks accounts that I sync to?
How can I update the Quickbooks accounts that I sync to?
Ben Quagliani avatar
Written by Ben Quagliani
Updated over a week ago

Updating the Quickbooks Accounts that Sync with MyCase

During the initial set-up of your MyCase/QuickBooks sync, you were asked to specify the accounts which MyCase uses to sync invoices, payments, and retainers to QuickBooks. If for some reason you would like to change these at a later time, this can be done by clicking on the QuickBooks button in the gray bar at the bottom of MyCase, and select Settings which will take you to the screen where accounts can be changed:

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 12.47.25 PM.png

The accounts shown on this screen are the same accounts which were selected during set-up, and can be changed as needed here. There are also checkboxes for the General Retainer and Trust Retainer, which can be enabled and disabled from this screen as well.

Note: Selecting a new account on this screen will automatically create a corresponding item in QuickBooks, which will be used on the invoices in QuickBooks. This is done to preserve any historical accounting which might have been done with the previously selected account.

Advanced Settings

If for some reason you need to adjust the items which are automatically created by MyCase, this can be done in the Advanced Settings section. This should only be adjusted if you must sync data from MyCase to an existing item that was created prior to connecting MyCase and QuickBooks, or any other scenario in which you do not want to use the default items created by MyCase.

To access the advanced settings, click on the QuickBooks button in the gray bar at the bottom of MyCase, select Settings, and then Advanced:

Screen Shot 2021-05-05 at 12.47.45 PM.png

Note: These items should only be adjusted when necessary - as this does affect how invoices and payments are handled in QuickBooks. Any changes made to this section will only be from that point moving forward, and will not change any previously synced information in QuickBooks. Because Time Entries and Expenses items are created automatically by the sync, these cannot be modified.

Did this answer your question?