All Collections
Advanced Document Automation
Document Collection & Clause Library
How to Save and Manage Advanced Templates in your Account
How to Save and Manage Advanced Templates in your Account

Store templates in your Saved Templates so you can populate them from within MyCase

Ben Q avatar
Written by Ben Q
Updated over a week ago
Advanced.png

Saved Templates is a fully managed cloud-based file storage system within the Word add-in, that you can use to store and access your Advanced Document Automation templates.

The templates that are saved in your Collection will automatically sync with your MyCase account, and you can draft one or multiple documents for your Cases from within MyCase.

Your files are encrypted (in transit and at rest) and hashed such that only you can retrieve and utilize them.

1. Saving a template to Saved Templates

The easier way to save a template to your account is to do that directly in the Word add-in. Simply click the Save Template button in the header (floppy disk icon).

  • Any user who has the Word add-in installed can save a template to the Collection

If the document you are saving already exists in your Saved Templates, the add-in will give you the option of overwriting the existing document or keeping the new one as a separate file.

Your master templates should not include any test/ previous client data. Any time you save a template to a Collection, make sure it's sanitized and follow these steps:
​
1: Click "Clear All" > "Clear Fields"
2: Click "Populate"
3: Save the template now to the Collection

2. Download a template

To download a template from your Saved Templates, first, navigate to the Saved Templates page from the add-in menu. Find the document you'd like to download and click the download button (down-arrow button) to the left of the document name.

  • Any user who has the Word add-in installed can download a template from the Collection

3: Edit the name of a template in your Saved Templates

To edit the name of a template in your Saved Templates, first, navigate to the Saved Templates page from the add-in menu. Find the document you'd like to edit the name of, hover over it, then click the pencil icon.

  • Users can edit the names of the templates by clicking the "pen" icon

  • If you don't see this icon, that means it's a shared template, and the author of the template needs to edit the name.

  • Please note that this will only edit the name and not the template. Follow these steps to edit any template.

4: Delete a template from your Saved Templates

To remove a template from your Saved Templates, first, navigate to the Saved Templates page from the add-in menu. Find the document you'd like to remove, hover over it, then click the trash can icon.

  • Users can delete templates they created, and won't be able to delete Shared Templates.

  • If you don't see this icon, that means it's a shared template, and the author of the template needs to delete the template

5: Move files in and out of folders

To select a file to move, hover over it with your cursor. Grab the file by holding down on your mouse, and then drag it in and out of a folder

  • Users can move files they created, and won't be able to delete Shared Templates.

6: Shared Templates

If you see a Shared Icon next to a template name, that means you're not considered the creator of the template and you cannot edit/ delete a template or move them into folders.

Did this answer your question?