A Workflow Template can be edited at any time. However, when you make edits to a Workflow Template, it will not have an impact on cases that have previously used the template.
It's important to understand how this works before making any changes to your templates. This article provides insight into how the process works.
A Real-World Example
Let's suppose your law firm has created a Workflow Template called Client Intake Checklist. The template consists of a series of important tasks and deadlines that get applied to every new case your law firm retains. When the template was originally created, it contained 5 tasks. Through the course of last month, the template was applied to a few new cases.
After the last firm-wide meeting, the partners determined that two additional tasks had to be added to the Client Intake Checklist. You go into the Workflow Template for the Client Intake Checklist and add those two tasks. It's important to realize that those two new tasks will not be added to any cases that previously had the Client Intake Checklist applied to it. Only cases moving forward that have Client Intake Checklist applied to it will have the updated task list that included the two new tasks.