The Archive Contact feature lets you remove a contact from your main contact database without actually deleting them from the system.
This is useful for situations where you are no longer actively representing a client and you'd like them removed from your main contact list, but not actually deleted from the system. Instead of deleting the contact (which will remove them entirely), archiving the contact will preserve their information and activity history if you should ever need to view it again.
When a contact is archived...
They will not show up in the Global Search Auto-match: If you type their name into the Global Search bar on the top-right corner of the screen, the archived contact will not show up in the auto-match search results. To search for an archived contact, type their name into the Global Search bar, then click on "Search Everything (Conflict Check)" at the bottom of the auto-match results.
They will not show up in the main contacts section: If you click the Contacts tab, you will notice two filter options, Active and Archived. Your archived contacts will only be visible in the Archived filter.
How Do I Archive a Contact?
To archive a contact, open the Contact Details Page for the person you'd like to archive.
On the bottom-left corner of the screen, click the blue button labeled Archive Contact.
If MyCase Access was enabled for this person (which gives them access to their client portal), you will be asked whether or not you'd like to continue giving them access, or disable it at this time. If you'd like to disable MyCase Access for this person, check the box next to Also disable MyCase login for this contact (pictured below).
Remember, archived contacts can still have MyCase Access enabled, so just because they are archived, doesn't mean they cannot access their account.
Click Archive to finish getting this contact archived.