When a document is shared with a client, they will receive an email alerting them of that newly added document in MyCase.
The email notification is in "digest style" because many documents are added in batch for clients. This will list all of the documents which have been uploaded in the last 15 minutes, and will reduce the amount of email alerts that a client receives. Upon clicking on a document in their email notification, your client will be prompted to log into their Client Portal and will be taken directly to that document in their account.
An example of the email that is sent to clients when documents are shared with them
If your client logs in directly to the Client Portal and does not follow the email notification, they will see the document that was shared in their Recent Activity feed.