There is a difference between closing and deleting a case, and it's important to understand how they both work:
Closing a Case: When you are done working on a case, you should close it. Once a case is closed, all of its data (documents, events, tasks, etc.) will be archived in a separate area. This is useful because as your case list grows, you don't want old case information to take over the main areas of MyCase.
Deleting a Case: If you want to remove the case from the system completely, you can delete it. To delete the case, it must first be closed, then you will have the option to delete. This action is not undoable, and the case will be removed from the system forever. When deleting a case, all of its related data (events, documents, tasks, messages, etc.) will be deleted with it!
Closing a Case
You can only re-open and delete cases that have been closed. To close a case, open its details page and then click the Close Case button towards the bottom-left corner of the page.
You will then be presented with the "Close Case Window". In addition to closing the case, you will have the options of also disabling the client portal of any contacts linked to the case, archiving any contacts linked to the case, or deleting all case-related events (pictured below).
After making your selection, click the Close Case button.
If you close a case that still has a outstanding invoice balances, you can still receive payments on those invoices in MyCase.
Batch Closing of Cases
If you would like to close multiple cases at once, you have this ability through batch case actions. Navigate to the Cases Dashboard by clicking on the Cases tab on top >> then select the check boxes on the left hand side that are associated with case that you would like to close >> finally click on the actions button in the upper right hand corner and selecting the option to Close Cases.
Once you select this choice you will be prompted with the option to archive any contacts linked to these cases. You may only archive contacts who are only linked to the one case you are closing. If they are linked to more than one case, you will not be able to archive them in this window. Finally, click on Close Cases in the lower right hand corner. Please Note: All events associated with these cases will be archived and removed from the calendar. This data will always be available on the Case Details page, however, if you would like the calendar events to remain on the calendar please close the cases individually as listed above.
Re-opening a Case
If you have previously closed a case and need to re-open it within the system, you will find it in the Closed subsection of your cases.
Click on the case name you would like to re-open and you will be taken to the case details page for the closed case. At the bottom-left corner of the screen will be a button labeled Re-open Case.
Deleting a Case
To delete a case, the case must first be closed. Once closed, you will have the options to Reopen or Delete the case. Clicking the Delete Case button will display a confirmation window (pictured below). Choose Yes, Delete if you would like to delete the case. This action cannot be undone!